American Composers Forum recognizes Arts Academy senior Nathaniel Heyder

  • Nathaniel "Nate" Heyder performs during the 2017 Lincoln Center chamber concert.

Current Interlochen Arts Academy violinist and composition major Nathaniel Heyder has been selected as one of the winners of the 2017 NextNotes competition.

NextNotes is a nation-wide competition hosted by the American Composers Forum for high school-age composers of any genre. To apply, each eligible composer submits a single composition; six NextNotes composers are selected from the pool of applicants. This year’s competition received over 130 submissions, which were judged by a panel of leading American composers including Chris Koza, Elliott Miles McKinley, Alex Shapiro, Curtis Stewart and Jen Wang.

“I am extremely pleased that Nate has received this award,” said Instructor of Composition Cynthia Van Maanen. “He is someone who works very hard on his music and on improving himself as both a composer and violinist. He is also a leader in our composition studio, often encouraging and helping his peers. I am very proud of Nate and honored that I’ve been able to work with him for three years here at Interlochen. Nate has been accepted to the Cleveland Institute of Music and will be attending there starting in the fall of 2017. I know that we will continue to hear of his success as an artist and I look forward to seeing what he is able to accomplish!”

The winning composers will attend a two-day, all-expenses-paid workshop in Minneapolis, Minn. in June. During the workshop, the winners will be mentored by composers Carol Barnett, Joshua Clausen and Joseph Horton, and will have their award-winning pieces performed by professional musicians at the NextNotes Showcase Concert on June 24. Each composer also receives a $1,000 scholarship to continue their studies, a $500 grant to share their work with their hometown and free Finale software courtesy of MakeMusic Inc.

In its third year, the NextNotes competition seeks to “nurture the next generation of creative voices in music composition.” Last year, Molly Monahan (IAC 14, IAA 14-16) also received the honor.