Academy Profile: Overview

Who We Are

The nation's first and foremost boarding fine arts high school, Interlochen unites five hundred of the world's most talented and motivated young artists who study music, theatre, comparative arts, dance, visual arts, creative writing, motion picture arts and challenging academics in a college-like setting. The Academy is a fast-paced environment that challenges, focuses talents and develops creativity. Academy students also master a comprehensive college-preparatory academic curriculum that prepares them to take prominent roles in any professional endeavor.

Academics and the arts are partners at the Academy. Students and faculty understand that liberal arts, math and science can enhance the artistic experience.

Interlochen Arts Academy is situated on a 1,200 acre wooded campus in northwestern Michigan near Traverse City.

Our Mission

Interlochen Arts Academy provides pre-professional arts instruction, college preparatory education, and lifeskills development to artistically gifted high school students.

Our Philosophy

Interlochen Arts Academy offers a curriculum committed to excellence in the arts and academics. Under the guidance of an exceptional faculty of artists and educators, the Academy creates an environment in which students can achieve the highest possible artistic, intellectual and ethical standards as individuals and as responsible members of a diverse community. The Academy provides opportunities for character and leadership development through individual initiative within a framework of healthy competition and frequent presentations.


Of 86 outstanding artists and educators who make up the faculty, 62 hold master's degrees and 12 hold doctorates. Exemplary faculty include instructors named Distinguished Teachers in the Arts by the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts.

National Recognition

Interlochen Center for the Arts is a recipient of the National Medal of Arts, the nation's highest honor in the arts. This award was established by Congress in 1984 and is given by the President of the United States to honor individuals and organizations that have encouraged the arts and inspired others.