Recent Guests of the Creative Writing Division

Distinguished visiting writers work closely with the students and help them understand the multi-faceted world of contemporary writing. Recent guests include:

  • Tyehimba Jess, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of two poetry collections, Olio and Leadbelly
  • Marcus Wicker, author of the poetry collections Silencer and Maybe the Saddest Thing, winner of the National Poetry Series
  • Tessa Fontaine, author of the memoir The Electric Woman: A Memoir in Death-Defying Acts
  • Analicia Sotelo, author of the poetry collection Virgin, inaugural winner of the Jake Adam York Prize
  • Garth Greenwell, IAA alumnus and author of the award-winning novel What Belongs to You
  • Danez Smith, author of the poetry collection Don’t Call Us Dead, a finalist for the National Book Award, and [insert] Boy, winner of the Lambda Literary Award and the Kate Tufts Discovery Award
  • Elissa Washuta, author of the memoir My Body is a Book of Rules and co-editor of the anthology Exquisite Vessel: Shapes of Native Nonfiction
  • Corey Van Landingham, National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship recipient and Stegner Fellow, author of two poetry collections, Love Letter to Who Owns the Heavens and Antidote
  • Douglas Kearney, poet/performer/librettist, author of 13 poetry collections and chapbooks including Buck Studies, Patter, and The Black Automaton
  • Danielle Evans, author of the story collection Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self, co-winner of the 2011 PEN American Roberts W. Bingham Prize for a first book
  • Danielle Lazarin, author of the story collection Back Talk, a 2018 NPR Best Book
  • Kea Wilson, IAA alumna and author of the novel We Eat Our Own