Concerto Competition Winners

Each autumn, select Interlochen Arts Academy musicians vie for top honors in our concerto competition. The winners then perform their concerto with the Academy Orchestra later in the school year. This year, we congratulate Sara Han, clarinet, and J.T. Hassell, piano. 

Ms. Han won Section A for Small Orchestra. Runners-up in Section A were Ting Yan Fung, piano and Taiga Ultan, flute. Mr. Hassell won Section B for Large Orchestra, with runners-up Alyssa Katahara, harp and Aliya Ultan, cello. Other finalists included:

  • Olivia Lerwick, soprano
  • Elisabeth Boaz, soprano
  • Ada Brooks, euphonium
  • Cristina Dougherty, tuba
  • Trombone Quartet: Christopher Colby, tenor trombone; Somer Joseph Hornbuckle, tenor trombone; Brett Kelly, tenor trombone; & Aaron Albert, bass trombone
  • Joseph Skerik, viola
  • Sasha Bult–Ito, piano
  • Lucian Avalon, oboe
Thank you to all who participated!